DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

Engine Cleaning!!!

10K views 25 replies 11 participants last post by  rapide 
#1 ·
Moving onto the next thing on my cleaning list before winter, does anyone have a decent tutorial on how I would clean an engine, without screwing things up? I'm new to this, go easy on me:glum:

But, anywho, Any details, items used, locations of those items, and how to finally do it, I would greatly appreciate any help for it. (I say that alot. Also noticed I ask alot of questions, hope you guys don't mind.)

Thanks everyone

#8 ·
When I did mine I used a diluted mix of purple power and water (I dont remember the ratios sorry) and I would spray the whole engine down with that and then would give it a nice scrub and then rinse it down. Afterwards I would dilute out some of this....http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/detail/MTH0/05316/N0460.oap?ck=Search_N0460_MTH_1400566_291&mn=Mothers%28R%29&mc=MTH&pt=N0460&ppt=C0209

with some water (just pour some into another bottle with some water, once again I dont remember the ratio) and then spray the engine down and let it sit. Not only will the protectant bring a real nice deep color and shine to everything but it will also leave it smelling like cherries! :D

This is how mine came out...

#12 ·
With all my vehicles I've used a 50/50 mix of Purple Power and water. I spay everything down in the engine compartment with the solution and let it set for about 5-10 minutes. Then I hook my hose up to my hot water heater and rinse everything down with hot water. After everything is good and rinsed off and I'm satisfied that everything is clean I spray on Armorall, close the hood and let everything air dry.

#14 · (Edited)