Fused Ignition Switch Output (Run / Start) [Archive] - DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums - Dodge Intrepid, Concorde, 300m and Eagle Vision chat

: Fused Ignition Switch Output (Run / Start)


tbird2340
07-06-2004, 03:19 PM
I am doing a couple mods (OTIS & Auto dimming mirror) and each harness has a circuit (wire) "G5 20DB/WT Fused Ignition Switch Output (Run-Start)". I am looking through the manual to find out where I need to tap these wires into. I read the OTIS howto and it says to "simply test wires by turning the ignition switch to "ON"......" Well I don't want to splice open wires testing until I find one so I was wondering if anyone could tell me one I could use for this.

THanks

cthall8143
07-06-2004, 03:40 PM
use a multimeter. neve a "testlight" always test those wires just to be on the safe side. even if the info you get is correct, its a good idea to always check yourself. 10 years in the install buisness has taught me that lesson the hard way about 9 and 1/2 years ago. als ues test leads that have a " bed of nails" on them. the pierse through the insulation w/o leaving the wire bare and exposed.

tbird2340
07-06-2004, 04:02 PM
cthall8143, thanks for the reply. What is the cheapest / best multimeter and where can I get it?

Thanks

cthall8143
07-06-2004, 04:21 PM
you don't really need the best multimeter. they can cost upwards of 300 bones!! just a nice one from sears will do more than you could ever need for around 30 bucks. and test leads should be at sears too, if not try radio shack. waytek.com might have some good stuff too.

tbird2340
07-06-2004, 04:40 PM
I wasn't asking for the BEST I was asking for the best / cheapest...

The best one out there for what I need to do that costs the cheapest!

:D

Thanks

Torontofirecaptain
07-06-2004, 04:50 PM
Why not plug the OTIS into the correct socket of the fuse block - where the overhead wiring goes into? That's where it belongs, and the pins are powered/fused already.

tbird2340
07-06-2004, 04:53 PM
I would like to do that but I'm not sure what the correct socket is.

Torontofirecaptain
07-06-2004, 04:59 PM
Follow the harness from the headliner - goes to the top left when looking at the fuse box. Yours probably only has 2 wires, OTIS & mirror will have 4 - DB/Wt, to fuse 14, Pk to fuse 19
Yl/Vt which is the OTIS bus to BCM, and Bk/LG to ground. Yours should have the PK & BK already. Just run the other two from the OTIS to the empty sockets

tbird2340
07-06-2004, 05:12 PM
OK.. I want to do it the way you stated above via the socket... But how do I get wires into the socket? What type of connectors do I use for that?