DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

Engine Trouble Code

2K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  gorf1000 
#1 · (Edited)
First off I'm a newbie to posting here but a frequent reader, and a long-time mopar man.

I've had the oh-so wonderful intermittent limp-mode lockup problem with my '96 Intrepid (EDIT: 3.5L, 120k miles). I only bought the car about 2 weeks ago and it'll run fine for a day or so, or sometimes a block or two then it'll lock into limp mode. I can do the 5-times key dance to get the tranny to reset and then it'll run fine for a while again.

When I first got the car I checked the tranny fluid and it was about 2 quarts low so I probably have a leak, but as I've been watching it since then it hasn't dropped much so I'm not too concerned about that yet. After filling the tran fluid I'm still having the problem. Since my odometer was still working I thought perhaps the input speed sensor had been cooked so I swapped that out, worth the $20 chance. No help.

I had a loose ground as well, fixed that but still no luck.

I got my friend to run the codes on the computer (of course I now confirmed that whoever had the car before me removed the check engine light). We came up with the code "P1784". After looking through a ton of sites the best I've come up with for a description is:
*L-R Pressure switch circuit
---Possible causes - Low battery voltage

Now I did also notice on the scanner that the Throttle Position Sensor was not reading correctly (it was reading 17% at idle and went all over the place when hitting the gas).

Okay so with all that I would guess that the TPS needs to be replaced but can anyone give me an explanation as to what that code means and an idea of what may be a resolution? Thanks for all your help!

See less See more
#6 ·