DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

Weird Problem on a 96 Concorde

2K views 37 replies 12 participants last post by  dodgerunner 
#1 ·
I am beginning to think the car is possessed.

The car starts fine, runs fine for a bit...until you idle a little while. Then the gauges slow down, the power steering and brakes stop, and the car stops. If you turn it off for a second, you can turn it right back on.

It is a 3.3. I have replaced:

the fuel filter
the PCV valve
the oil pressure sensor
the idle air control valve

I am thinking it may be the fuel pump, but before I shell out $300 (and follow the handy dandy step by step instructions on here), I was looking for an expert opinion.

Anything like this sound familiar to anyone? I appreciate any help I can get...

#5 ·
k-nash said:
I know a failing alternator can cause all kinds of problems, altho I am no pro maybe you should have alternator tested along with your battery
I forgot to mention I replaced the alternator, starter, battery, and serpentine belt as well.

Crap...I have replaced alot!

#9 ·
I am THINKING it has gotta be a sensor of some kind...

I am thinking about replacing:

TPS sensor
MAP sensor
Oxygen sensor

As a last resort, maybe the catalytic conveter.

Do any of you think one of these might fix it?

#10 ·
You will get a code for Cam or crank or O2 or Map sensor, you should test fuel pressure it might be the fuel pressure regulator. I don't know if a exhaust problem would cause that maybe a clogged cat but I think you would get some kind of DTC for that also. If it is electrical maybe a bad ground you should start testing things like fuel and spark.

G
#11 ·
Yes, it must be a sensor of some kind.
If it was a catalytic converter, you could smell it. It smells horrible, like rotten eggs.
But then again, I think sensors should throw codes. How is the fuel you are using there? Any good? I know it sounds stupid, but did you try Premium fuel (92+ octane)