Replacing the Thermostat on a 2002 Intrepid [Archive] - DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums - Dodge Intrepid, Concorde, 300m and Eagle Vision chat

: Replacing the Thermostat on a 2002 Intrepid

jayson
07-20-2006, 10:57 PM
I am not a car expert but I know that replacing a thermostat should not cost $250 like the dealership told me. I am not even 100% sure that replacing the thermostat will fix my overheating problem but I figured that it would be a cheap thing to try. Apparently not!

The guy at the dealership made it sound like the thermostat is hard to get to. So you guys know...is that true? Where is it located and how hard is it to replace?

Any advice you can lend me would be great! Thanks!

J-

wb6vpm
07-20-2006, 11:02 PM
well you can download the service manuals here:

http://www.*****************.net/02lhe/

va3ux
07-20-2006, 11:06 PM
Changing the thermostat on this car is not like changing the thermostat on any other car. It's in a horrible place.

DrDodge
07-20-2006, 11:09 PM
yea if you have a 2.7 its a royal pain,, a 3.5 on the other hand aint too bad,,,

ARedTrepRT
07-21-2006, 01:02 AM
$250 isn't that bad from a dealership.....I had that done on my car and paid around $200 but also got a coolant flush/fill included. I also got a ton of air problems with the flush/fill that I had to keep filling the damn coolant until all the air was finally out, BUT, the stealership charges like $80 an hour labor, so the $250 isn't out of line from them...I would check around other places and see what type of amounts they are wanting....also see what type of coverage the stealership gives on their work, too...seems to be different at different dealerships around here...

ARedTrepRT
07-21-2006, 01:04 AM