Super Newbie Question - DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums - Dodge Intrepid, Concorde, 300m and Eagle Vision chat
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-29-2014, 04:49 PM Thread Starter
Intrepid Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Feedback: 0 / 0%
 
Super Newbie Question


Hey guys,
Quick question. I'm trying to line some interior lights in my 03 Intrepid. When I took off the panel, there was this piece that ran along side the cigaret lighter. I'm wondering if this roles to the fuse. Can I use an adapter of some sort to power my controller for the LEDs? The controller needs 60W. Sorry I'm so new to cars in general.
Thanks!
This is the piece I found:


This is the wire I'll be either stripping or plugging into whatever. It's the controller. It is currently using a AC Power cable.
Kyle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 09:38 AM
Bitches be like...


 
beeblebrox82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 16,618
Feedback: 6 / 100%
                     
Garage
so it was in the center console?
beeblebrox82 is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 09:53 AM Thread Starter
Intrepid Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Feedback: 0 / 0%
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by beeblebrox82 View Post
so it was in the center console?
yes. right below the radio and cigaret lighter.
Kyle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 10:18 AM
Bitches be like...


 
beeblebrox82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 16,618
Feedback: 6 / 100%
                     
Garage
does your car have autostick? I cant think of what else that would be for.
beeblebrox82 is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 10:30 AM Thread Starter
Intrepid Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Feedback: 0 / 0%
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by beeblebrox82 View Post
does your car have autostick? I cant think of what else that would be for.
Wish I knew what that was lol
Kyle is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 12:08 PM
Intrepid Modder
 
Ruggels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rocklin, CA
Posts: 452
Feedback: 0 / 0%
 
manual control of the transmission by means of moving the shifter to the sides (youd see an extra D with a - and a + next to it on your shifter)
Ruggels is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 01:30 PM Thread Starter
Intrepid Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Feedback: 0 / 0%
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruggels View Post
manual control of the transmission by means of moving the shifter to the sides (youd see an extra D with a - and a + next to it on your shifter)
It's an automatic. Sorry for being stupid. How would I connect my application to a fuse? What wires would I buy?
Kyle is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 01:55 PM
Intrepid Modder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Moved on
Posts: 738
Feedback: 0 / 0%
                     
About autostick.
Any of of our cars with automatic transmissions can be upgraded to auto stick buy swapping out a few parts, like the shifter, instrument panel, and maybe the transmission control module. It is a relatively simple afternoon project for anyone who has average mechanical skill.

Just run your wires up under the dash to the fuse panel and tap into an existing fuse, or use an inline fuse.
BiliTheAxe is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 04:05 PM
Woober Goobers!

 
Ronbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tiny Pebble, AR
Posts: 48,595
Feedback: 44 / 100%
                     
How many wires on the back and what colors are they?
Ronbo is online now  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 04:09 PM
Woober Goobers!

 
Ronbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tiny Pebble, AR
Posts: 48,595
Feedback: 44 / 100%
                     
And was that connector laying in there by itself or was it connected to something and you took it off to take the picture?
Ronbo is online now  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 04:17 PM
Woober Goobers!

 
Ronbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tiny Pebble, AR
Posts: 48,595
Feedback: 44 / 100%
                     
Looks like it's the right shape/color/number of pins to be the Blower Motor Resistor Block connector.
Ronbo is online now  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 04:47 PM Thread Starter
Intrepid Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Feedback: 0 / 0%
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruggels View Post
manual control of the transmission by means of moving the shifter to the sides (youd see an extra D with a - and a + next to it on your shifter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiliTheAxe View Post
About autostick.
Any of of our cars with automatic transmissions can be upgraded to auto stick buy swapping out a few parts, like the shifter, instrument panel, and maybe the transmission control module. It is a relatively simple afternoon project for anyone who has average mechanical skill.

Just run your wires up under the dash to the fuse panel and tap into an existing fuse, or use an inline fuse.
The wires I have running from my controller are about two inches lol. Can you link me to some longer wires?
Kyle is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 04:49 PM Thread Starter
Intrepid Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Feedback: 0 / 0%
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronbo View Post
How many wires on the back and what colors are they?
I'll look when I get home.
Kyle is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 05:30 PM
Bitches be like...


 
beeblebrox82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 16,618
Feedback: 6 / 100%
                     
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle View Post
The wires I have running from my controller are about two inches lol. Can you link me to some longer wires?
you can buy wire from the hardware store or radio shack.
beeblebrox82 is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 05:41 PM Thread Starter
Intrepid Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 7
Feedback: 0 / 0%
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by beeblebrox82 View Post
you can buy wire from the hardware store or radio shack.
What exactly is the name of the wire?
Kyle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums - Dodge Intrepid, Concorde, 300m and Eagle Vision chat forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionaly, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Linear Mode Linear Mode
Rate This Thread:



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome