DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am new to this page. I own a 2001 Dodge Intrepid RT. It has the 3.5 engine. About a week ago the 20 amp fuse labeled 02 SSR fuse blew. I replaced and blew I think as soon as I switched the key on. Continued blowing every time I would start it. I finally just had a friend come follow me and give me a boost when my car would run out of juice because drained the battery. The next morning my friend was working in it and he ran what he calls a "jumper" in the place where the fuse was. Of course with no fuse to blow, it didn't blow a fuse but I barely made it a 1/2 mile down the road and it just died. I tried to start it and there was nothing. Any ideas what's happened and how to fix it? I am not mechanically inclined. I really can't afford to pay a mechanic. I do desperatly need my car running. Please help and thank u.

·
Premium Member
16,843 Posts
First off: Never let that friend touch your car again. :) Never jumper around a fuse. It may have burned open a wire or done other damage that now you have to find and fix in addition to the original problem.

Not sure which fuse is SSR. They label the cover differently than the way they are named in the service manual (FSM), and I no longer own one of these cars to go out and look at the markings on the PDC cover. I'm assuming it's a fuse in the PDC (Power Distribution Center) in the engine compartment rather than one of the fuses in the left end of the dash.

Which one is it in the diagram below? They're each assigned a letter A thru T. Tell us the letter number.

Once you tell us that, we can give you assistance in what to look for.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
First off: Never let that friend touch your car again. :) Never jumper around a fuse. It may have burned open a wire or done other damage that now you have to find and fix in addition to the original problem.