DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings!

I have a 1999 2.7L Dogde Intrepid with 120K. This morning when I was driving to work, the speedometer stopped working and the car didn't shift out of second gear.

When I got to work, I used the on-off-on-off-on-off, the code that was returned was 0700.

I know I need to check the transmission fluid, but since I am at work and its pouring rain that will have to wait until the weather clears. I'm an almost complete novice when it comes to cars, so I was wondering what sort of things I might be able to check in addition to the transmission fluid?

Thanks for your time!
Chris

·
Registered
1,992 Posts
I understand AutoZone will check codes for free--don't know that for sure, and I don't know if they can retrieve tranny(specific) codes..but you will needs more diagnostic help than the odometer method gives...

·
Registered
238 Posts
If the speedometer is not working then the output speed sensor on the transmission is bad. There is also an input speed sensor. They typically go bad within a few thousand miles of each other. Its an easy repair if you have the socket wrench to fit the sensor. They usually run about $45 each from the dealer and it takes about a 1/2 hour to do the job. They are located on the drivers side of the transmission housing. Input sensor is towards the front of the car, output towards the back.

·
Registered
1,992 Posts
jgams said:
If the speedometer is not working then the output speed sensor on the transmission is bad. There is also an input speed sensor. They typically go bad within a few thousand miles of each other. Its an easy repair if you have the socket wrench to fit the sensor. They usually run about $45 each from the dealer and it takes about a 1/2 hour to do the job. They are located on the drivers side of the transmission housing. Input sensor is towards the front of the car, output towards the back.