DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. I'm just getting to know (the quirks of) my Intrepid. Especially the cooling system. I am no stranger to working on cars, just this one.

I am about to replace my radiator on my '04 with 2.7l engine. I have learned much about this cooling system from searching here and on youtube. Great "Info for 2.7 owners sticky". Very informative!
It looks like there is some stuff that must be accessed from underneath the car. I haven't had a good look around under there yet. Couple of dumb questions:

1. Should I put it up on ramps? (I'm doing this on a gravel driveway and my trolley jacks/jackstands don't work so good there) Not sure how much "underneath time" I am looking at.
2. I can't see the thermostat yet. Is it easier to get at from underneath? Or does the alternator have to come out? Or both? I know where it is located. Just haven't laid eyes on it.
3. Looks like the "conventional" way is to remove the fan(s) assembly first? One youtuber removed the radiator and fans together, but video did not show it.
4. Removing the driver's side headlight really helped to see in there and it was super easy (thanks Dodge). Any point in removing the other headlight?

I'll be doing a good flush then testing then replacing the t-stat along with lower hose (using cable tie to retain gasket). I already did upper hose and surge tank within the last year.

adTHANKSvance for any wisdom.

·
Premium Member
19,039 Posts
Hello DIbox - welcome to the forums!

You've done some good reading already on the radiator/thermostat replacement.

Here are the thoughts that occurred to me while reading your post:
• You will definitely need to use ramps or jack stands. The problems I always had with ramps is that sometimes, they will be in the way of where you need to be - and you might want to have the wheel off to do the work anyway.