DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here. I'm just getting to know (the quirks of) my Intrepid. Especially the cooling system. I am no stranger to working on cars, just this one.

I am about to replace my radiator on my '04 with 2.7l engine. I have learned much about this cooling system from searching here and on youtube. Great "Info for 2.7 owners sticky". Very informative!
It looks like there is some stuff that must be accessed from underneath the car. I haven't had a good look around under there yet. Couple of dumb questions:

1. Should I put it up on ramps? (I'm doing this on a gravel driveway and my trolley jacks/jackstands don't work so good there) Not sure how much "underneath time" I am looking at.
2. I can't see the thermostat yet. Is it easier to get at from underneath? Or does the alternator have to come out? Or both? I know where it is located. Just haven't laid eyes on it.
3. Looks like the "conventional" way is to remove the fan(s) assembly first? One youtuber removed the radiator and fans together, but video did not show it.
4. Removing the driver's side headlight really helped to see in there and it was super easy (thanks Dodge). Any point in removing the other headlight?

I'll be doing a good flush then testing then replacing the t-stat along with lower hose (using cable tie to retain gasket). I already did upper hose and surge tank within the last year.

adTHANKSvance for any wisdom.

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thought I had posted this reply yesterday, but somehow did not.

Hi peva & JordanS, Thanks, good info. I considered saving the old tank but trashed it. It wasnt leaking but so dark i couldnt see through it. A friend who had an intrepid for many years said i should replace it. My coolant was bubbling in there. This stopped when i put a new cap on the tank.