DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, i'm a highschool student heading to syracuse university(soon to be ncaa champs) this fall.I've been driving only for around 5 months so i'm a new driver My father has agreed to buy me my own vehicle to take up to college with me.At first he was gonna buy my nieghbors crappy ford focus for me, but i pleaded to him not and let me choose my own car.I wanted an affordable sporty sedan with with lots of leg room for my 6'4 frame.I've narrowed it down to the intrepid and 300m. My dad thinks that they are too large or car for me to start out with.I have 10k to spend.I'm stuck between a 1999 300M with 70k miles or a 2001 intrepid ES with 40k miles. Both are around $10k. I would appreciate your help with my decision and what are your thoughts of tthem bieng my first car.

·
Registered
7,101 Posts
Right, take the Intrpeid, you can always add parts of a 300m to it. I still think the Intrepid is a "sportier" looking car than the 300m.

--Gorm

·
Registered
3,594 Posts
Well, I don't know what kind of driver you are, but your dad may have a point, both cars are pretty big (not as big as mine :p ), and I don't know if you want that. Anyways, I personally say get the 300M because, even though the other guys suggested that you can add the "luxury" features later, you may or may not have a job during school and won't be able to get the other features that you could have had standard in the 300M.

·
Registered
1,139 Posts
I say flip a coin.....they are equally beautiful...:)

·
Registered
5,763 Posts
I'd say have both of them checked out by a trusting mechanic, the Intrepid is newer and less mileage but if the 300M was better maintained it could be the better choice.

·
Registered
417 Posts