DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie, so I'm sure I'd find an answer here, but in the posts I've searched I haven't found my exact symptoms...so here they are:

1) driving home....tachometer starts bouncing erratically, so I immediately pull over.....car stalls and will not re-start, no matter how long I wait.

2) Battery is strong, I can crank it over all day long.

3) Its like fuel or ignition simply aren't enabled to allow the car to start.

4) replaced the crankshaft sensor.....no difference, still will not start.

5) replaced the PCM....no difference (I expected it to start, then shut down because I didn't get the PCM flashed to match the ignition)

I'm thinking its got to be a relay of some sort....anyone got ideas for me?

Regards,
Aaron

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the responses, I'll check fuel pressure in the am. I didn't even know there was a 300mclub; thanks!

Regards,
Aaron

·
Registered
1,778 Posts
any check engine codes? sometimes cam position sensor could be a problem as well. btw, is your timing belt still in tact?

·
Registered
126 Posts
by the way incase you dont know how to check fuel
pressure, take a spark plug out and crank it, then smell the sparkplug chamber to see if you smell any gas where the spark plug is supposed to be.

·
Registered
4,544 Posts
also cam shaft sensor could cause that same problem, (also when replacing sensors man, always disconnect the negative battery jump post fromt he strut tower, so that the computer can reset it self, and so you wont short anything out when rplacing/swapping out sensors dude!, ;)

·
Registered
739 Posts
Hello fellow garden stateener'er'er :banghead:

I had the same problem with my M about 2 weeks ago. Needles went crazy on me, and it died silently. It would not start again, even though battery was in tip top shape.

First thing to check:

Injector coil fuse, IIRC I think its a 20AMP fuse