DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody.

This is my first time posting, but I've used the forums often for help on topics. I'm kind of embarassed to be posting this, but whatever.

I've been having major problems with the engine cooling system on my Intrepid. At first, I took it to a shop, and they diagnosed the problem as one of the radiator fans weren't working. I decided I could handle that repair, and went ahead and bought the part and replaced it, along with the thermostat. Replaced everything, and it was still overheating. At this point, I noticed the radiator wasn't even warm, while my engine was overheating. I figured it must be the water pump, and began the long, difficult process of changing that.

So, I read in another post about the 3-bolt versus 6-bolt water pumps, and discovered mine was a 6-bolt. The parts store would have to have ordered the 6-bolt one, and I read that the 3-bolt would bolt on, so I decided to try that. However, I hadn't realized that those bolt holes could drain fluid, so I decided to just screw in the remaining bolts with some o-rings and sealent. This is embarassing part, however. I was pretty tired from all the work I had put in so far, and wasn't paying as much attention as I should have been, so I accidently put too much pressure on the bolt, and snapped the head.

So, now I'm stuck with my car torn to pieces, no water pump, and a bolt stuck so when I get the pump, I won't be able to install it. I don't have any experience drilling out bolts, so I've tried calling a couple mobile mechanics, whose responses have ranged from "trash the engine" to "it's not something I want to get into."