DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just started playing with ideas today on how to turn our tail lights into the clear, euro (Alteeza) lights.

Now, this all stemmed from the guys over at Stratusphere trying to make their own, having to remove the red plastic and recover the tail light clear lexan or plexi glass.

Lucky for us, our tail lights have two separate plastic pieces. One is the clear outer shell. The other is the red inner shell. I've come up with a few ideas on how to get it out. one would to be stick a screw driver through the light holes and smash it up, then drop the pieces out of the holes. Or the other is the heat up the assembly and separate the clear plastic from the housing, remove the red, and use some epoxy glue to put it back together.

The only other thing is that the bulbs are originally clear, so you'd have to go out and buy red ones.

I may attempt to find a set at a local yard to practice with, but for now that's the idea.

·
Registered
131 Posts
thats a good idea. but it seems if you heated it wouldnt it warp the light holder?
how about the fronts to ?any ideas? ;)

·
Registered
502 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
we can't clear our turn signals because the reflector is molded into the plastic from the factory. I've tried to bust it out of there already, but it's no good.

·
Registered
131 Posts
if the front is molded would the back be too?or am i an idiot?
:(

[ September 12, 2001: Message edited by: ru4adodge ]

·
Registered
131 Posts
ok :rolleyes: i can take the flack

·
Registered
4,811 Posts
that might look cool but you wouldnt have the chrome rings with the red centers like the original altezza's would

·
Registered
106 Posts