DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
603 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
thats the question. The guy at the garage told me I should after my old change today and also recommended the coolant system flush.

·
Registered
37 Posts
This post is based on my opinion. I'm no mechanic, but I use the following guidelines.

Transmission fluid-
Check the color and smell, does it smell like it's been burned at all, or is it dark in color grey.. My trans fluid in my Premiere was grey and had a slight burnt smell, had it flushed and it made a huge difference. Otherwise I would follow the reccomendations of your owners manual / people on this site who have more experience.
I have found that unless my trans fluid is fresh, just about any chain shop will reccomend changing your trans fluid.
I'm not sure on the filter, but I would let someone do the flush/filter for me, some people have reccomended siphoning as much fluid as you can before you drop the pan.

Oil-
Follow users manual and take into consideration inner-city stop and go driving is much harder on your car than interstate mileage. Also check the oil when you drain it ( if changing yourself ) an pay attention to any metal, which you can use a magnet to find.

-Powersteering-
Not that hard to drain, mine hasn't had any contamination. I have heard some people reccomending using the P/S fluid with the leak sealant in it, due to some Trepid's having leak issues.

Coolant-
Shouldn't be completely dark and the correct summer mix is approx 70% antifreeze and 30% water, if I remember correctly. The anti-freeze is a better lubricant than water. Again, if you're having issues with overheating, or running hot, try flushing you coolant to verify proper mix and also I have seen people reccomend replacing the cap (if you have issues with overheating.)

Again,
Trust others with more experience on this site than me, and refer to the Owners manual on fluid capacity and replacement guidelines.

·
Registered
143 Posts