DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I dropped my car of Sunday night at the dealership to get some of the problems I've been having with it looked at. All the problems had been looked at before with the usual response of "could not duplicate". Well the guy from the dealership called today to give me the bad news. First, they had to order a steering rack for it. This one had too much play in it and it was causing the bad shake in the steering wheel. So I figure ok, not too big of a deal. I didn't expect what he told me next. He says that they finally heard the knocking noise I had been describing to them for the past 10 months. I don't remeber exactly what he said but I'm pretty sure he said it was probably a connecting rod. :( Great, just what I wanted to hear. But it gets better. The tap that I started to hear about a week or two ago when the car is cold is probably a bad lifter. :eek: He said they will know more when they tear the motor down. They didn't find anything on the tranny yet. Oh well, at least they are going to get me a new steering wheel since the leather is falling apart on mine. He said it's usually not covered but they were going to cover it. I'll let you know what they find.

[ November 13, 2001: Message edited by: 00RT ]

·
Registered
3,427 Posts
OUCH

·
Registered
217 Posts
wow, and I thought I had it bad when they tore my engine down twice!! At least I had nothing else go wrong (major anyway). BTW they replaced 4 intake valves on my engine, two each time. just waiting for it to go bad again someday..... :(

·
Registered
336 Posts
There was a guy on the old R/T forum that had to have the whole bottom half of his engine replaced. Hopefully it's all still under warranty!

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5