DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 20 of 153 Posts

·
Registered
19,541 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well the time has come. My '98 ES has been starting to show her age... the factory clear coat began "pitting" about a year ago and it's been getting worse ever since. It's to a point now where I have quarter sized holes in the clear and many more (hundreds!) emerging "pits" or "bubbles" all over the car...

It's paint job time!!! ....but first, these vinyl stripes that I've been sporting around for the last 3 or 4 years have to come off. I've grown to love the look with the stripes, as many others have as well. It almost broke my heart to begin removing them from the car... and removing them wasn't easy either. Over the years, they got very brittle. I had to heat up the vinyl (with the GF's hair dryer) to be able to get any sizable pieces off at one time. And the vinyl left a nasty sticky residue on the paint... I'm still working on getting some of it off. It's a ***** even with GooGone. But I'm thinking... why don't I just sand it down with the rest of it? The clear HAS to be sanded down to the color coat at least.

Anyway, I'm taking this project on myself. This will be the very first car I've ever painted, but I'm not scared. I've been reading a lot, watching a lot of videos and talking to a few friends that do it for a living. I've also got you guys and RJ! (Trepcruzin) who painted his car and offered a lot of tips and pointers (thanks RJ!). Not to mention my grandfather, who
retired from 50 years running his own paint/body shop... so I kinda have it in my blood... grew up around it... seen it done a "couple" of times.

I'm not going to be doing some half ass job on this. This is my Intrepid... and it is my personal mission to produce a paint job on this car that is nothing short of stunning. This new paint job has to take the car to the next level...