DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Intrepid fam,

I'm planning to replace the stabilizer bar links and a bunch of bushings on the front end soonish since it's starting to creak and groan a bit much, last time i saw it up on a shop lift the bar links had some play to them.

I'm kinda new to car stuff in general but I just recently changed the spark plugs which felt good. But I'm wondering if anyone has done that kind of work before and I'm looking for tips and advice before diving in because I might need a day or two to do everything...

Like are there any special tools I would need for tie rods or any of the bushings on an 01 R/T ?

Also also as a bonus I'm going to swap out my front bumper cover and change out my headlights and foglights and I have no idea what thats going to require... but I notice a gap between my hood and bumper so I feel like theres a bumper cover hardware kit I migt need to replace as well.

I dont own a good enough jack/lift or anything yet so if you can recommend a decent one that isnt super expensive that would be a help too..

Appreciate you taking the time to read this mess and having the patience to deal w my lack of knowledge and experience but my Intrepid is super cool and I know I'll regret it my whole life if I don't start to do more repairs myself

·
Premium Member
17,123 Posts
This is a decent jack: 3 ton Low Profile Rapid Pump® Floor Jack

I bought one about 4 years ago and am happy with it. Nothing is as frustrating (or as dangerous) as a marginal jack.

Catch it on sale or with coupon to get price under $100. Prices have gone up on stuff like this. This is a good jack to have in general - low profile for low vehicles, but goes plenty high, two-stage hydraulics to raise it quickly until it starts lifting, then changes to power mode when it gets resistance. Plenty strong at 3 tons.

You do know to use jack stands, right?