DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
Read the thread just below this one. My ICE polish review thread has a few good processes that I would recommend as well as other members. Basically just wash the car really good with a quality car wash, NOT DISH SOAP, then towel dry it COMPLETELY, use some kind of polish, if desired, and then apply at least 1 coat of a good wax. Thats basically what I'd recommend.

Josiah

·
Registered
97 Posts
I have been using the meguiars system for about ten years. I have tried a little of everything from 3m pro products to turtle wax. the best results have come from meguairs. I am leaning toward using the meguairs pro products. I had a nasty ford explorer that had all kinds of paint problems and it look better than new. The paint was terrible. I usally use the paint cleaner, the polish and the pro glaze. and wax with gold class...

·
Registered
931 Posts
Here is my car wash routine:

1. Washed once a week(usually Saturday or Sunday, weather permitting) - wash it after it has been sitting in the shade for a little bit and has cooled off so that water doesn't dry instantly and leave water spots. I use either Turtle Wax Zip Wash, or Meguiars car soap (can't remember the name, but it's purple). I also shine the tires at this time, and clean/vacuum the interior, and wipe down the door jambs/sills.

2. First wash of each month, I put a coat of Meguiars Gold Class wax on it. At this time I also fully detail the interior (vaccum, trunk vacuum, leather conditioner, dash cleaning, etc..).. which reminds me - this weekend is wax weekend!