DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
467 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, here's the deal.

2000 Dodge Intrepid ES, 282,000+ on the clock, strictly maintained, original motor and trans. After finally getting tired of warping rotors, I bought a set of iRotors cross drilled rotors (all four) and Hawk HP+ pads.

After a short break in period, I noticed a squealing from the front right wheel upon hard braking. This only occurred when almost at the end of a complete stop, and only after about a half hour of driving. The squeal was DEAFENING, I knew something had to be wrong.

I'm a Ford Tech, so it's not like I could have installed the brakes wrong, but regardless, I made it happen one day after work, then quickly put the car up on the lift and took all four wheels off. I had a co-worker drive it up to 50mph on the lift and make some stops, the noise was still happening and yet visually everything was perfect. This co-worker confirmed there is nothing wrong visually with anything (he was formerly a 22 year Chrysler Master Tech, so there rules out any Dodge/Ford differences I could have overlooked). I re-greased the caliper bolts and applied anti-squeal to the pads, and drove it again. Same noise.

A week later it's still happening (about 2500 miles now), so I switched the front pads left to right. Keep in mind there are no rear problems whatsoever. While switching pads, I notice that the inside of the rotor of the side the noise is coming from (passenger side) has a groove in it. about .010" wide and .001" deep. interesting, the problem is obviously on the inside of the passenger side.

well, after switching pads, the noise is now coming from the driver side. about 500 miles and the inside of the driver side rotor is showing marks in the same place that the passenger side was.

to rule out any variables, I went to autozone and picked up el cheapo rotors and pads for the front.

autozone pads + autozone rotors = no noise