DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, this may sound like a total newbie question, but I've never done this before... so I want to make sure I have the proper instructions because I've heard different instructions from several "knowledgeable" people.

My biggest concern is that the instructions that came with my jumper cables say "DO NOT attach to the negative terminal of the dead battery" but rather to somewhere on the engine body.

However, my Trep has bolt that says "negative connection" that looks like just another bolt in the engine, but I have a feeling that it is connected to the negative terminal of my battery. Should I not use that to connect to???

Also, the cables I bought have copper clips covered by a plastic sheath (where you grip it), but my hand could easily touch the copper ends that are exposed.... if I accidentally touch it, will I get zapped???

·
Registered
917 Posts
Negative to negative, positive to positive. Yes, you will get zapped if you touch it...

Touch them together and watch the sparks...that will be your hand :p

·
Registered
780 Posts
Even if you get zapped there is not a life threatening mount (12V to your fingers will scare you but not kill you)

I always do pos to pos neg from jumper car to engine block (usually AC or alt bracket bolt ) on car being jumped
what he said...the dead battery should be hooked up positive only

·
Registered
1,439 Posts
The reason is that the last connection you make will cause a spark. Ya don't want a spark near your battery because batteries give off hydrogen gas. So make sure the LAST connection you make is neg jump cable to the block.

·
Registered
1,806 Posts
I've always done pos to pos, neg to neg. No problems yet. Getting zapped isn't to bad, you'll smile after you jump trust me! I got zapped by the coil wire a few weeks ago...

·
Registered
2,660 Posts