DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
8,099 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I currently have a DSL and Cable connection.

When rhythms filed for chapter 11, my dsl was going to go down while they transferred over to another network. Since I didn't want to lose my high speed connection, I got cable internet up and running in 2 days (fast response).

Anyways, Sprint ION is supposed to be here anytime, and I plan on getting that when it is.

I'm on my 3rd DSL connection, so I've had a lot of experience with their slow installs...

·
Registered
299 Posts
[email protected] Cable. Ive had that for like 4 years, and love it. (and i voted too randy :))

·
Registered
1,226 Posts
Cable, i've had this road runner since '97

·
Registered
4,980 Posts
Cable here. Use a 3Com Shark's Fin cable modem through Optimum Online service. I also did the registry fix to increase speed.

·
Registered
2,427 Posts
i'm on a LAN connection. it's usually fast but they are replacing the servers piece by piece and lately our speeds have been patheticly slow. like slower than a 56k modem. i tried to upload some stuff to a friend's FTP server (usually get around 100k up or down from him) and it kicked me off becuase my transfer rate was below .5k. maybe they'll get it fixed soon.

·
Registered
49 Posts
• @home cable from home,
• T1 from work,
• 56k POTS elsewhere
• cell phone modem (9600) on the road. Wouldn't even bother surfing on that! Just use it to check email.

·
Registered
11,278 Posts
I dont think there is a reg fix for XP, the tweaks I know work mainly on win 98 + 98se machines.

here's what was said about win2K, I tried it and they were right, HUGE speed difference on win98SE, no difference on win2k, so I assume winXP won't benefit as well