DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there folks , can someone please tell me what the problem is with my 94 Intrepid ES ??

I was thinking maybe you guys can help me before a mechanic fleeces me and lies to me . I am new in this town and dont have a mechanic I can trust like my old town..

Anyhoo , all of a sudden yesterday my coolant bottle overflow hose started spewing out tons of coolant with white smoke everywhere.. For some reason the temp gauge in the car was in the middle and didnt show signs of overheating.. However before I opened the hood and saw the white smoke, I could smell the coolant from inside the car while driving.. Thats when i stopped..

A guy on the side of the road quickly pointed out that its probably my Thermostat because the hose leading right into the thermostat was rock hard when the car was running ( I filled up the smoking coolant bottle with water and started the car again as per his request)..

So I spent 5 bucks on a thermostat and changed it .. After starting the car again , that hose that was so hard before was now soft .. So I thought the problem was fixed..

Now a day later I am driving for 30 minutes and I am looking ahead at a stop light , All of a sudden I see white smoke AGAIN Coming from the right side where the coolant bottle is.. I stop again and see that its the same problem , only that this time , the smoke and boiling water wasnt as intense as before , but you could see the water boiling inside the coolant bottle reservoir..

At this time water was still spewing out of the overflow hose attached to the coolant bottle... But for some reason my temperature gauge in my dashboard DOES NOT show a high temperature , it is still showing a needle a little lower than halfway !

Anyhow , I can drive for 10 minutes without a problem now , but I dont drive a minute more because this problem starts again..