DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there .
A long time lerker (since 2014) I'd like to thank daytreper and peva for the wealth they contributed to this form .
I have 2001 Chrysler intrepid 2.7 with 170 thousand KLM . The car is great , I've been using synthetic oil for 9 years , the engine still purr like a kitten , no water pump issues , but it's been leaking oil from the valve cover gaskets .
Today , I removed the covers (real pain) and put the new gaskets . The engine is Uber clean+chain guides plastic layers are still thick , but I noticed the tensioner wasn't fully extended , and the timing chain was a little loose on the chain side that comes from the water pump (the chain side of the tensioner was tight) .
So , I turned the crankshaft a full turn and the tensioner extend to the normal level (about an inch , there was half of an inch of carbon build up on the tensioner), and the chain slack was gone and it was tight again .
Two years ago , I accidentally turned the engine counterclockwise (stupid me) , that made me think , maybe it caused the tensioner to push inward to itself (?) . Do you think ?
Should I worry ?
Thanks again

·
Premium Member
17,384 Posts
When you rotated the engine CCW, it could have caused the tensioner to have been compressed into its latched shortened condition. The important thing is that you have proven (by its extension) that your tensioner is in its released (extended) condition - not latched.

(There is a line that will be revealed on the tensioner if the chain is worn to the point of needing to be replaced.)

The tensioner has a spring inside it that tends to extend it with a relatively weak force. That force tends to tighten the chain, but is not enough to keep slack out of the chain, but is important in the process of getting the tensioner pumped up to develop full chain tension once the engine is running.