DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,416 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
minjady's tranny went on her trep she just bought! what broke that would cause her tranny fluid to leak all over her engine? car smoked due to tranny fluid all over! could it be a hose of some sort and would that be hard to fix?

·
Registered
181 Posts
aww you're too sweet! >_<
But any responses would be great!!
This really sucks!
It's at a tranny shop now it will be looked at in the morning so I will find out what happened then, hopefully it's just a hose or something but we'll see.

·
Registered
1,416 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
thats what I told her it could be, but wouldn't it leak coolant instead of tranny fluid? I dunno I'm no mechanic! LOL but that was my first assumption!

·
Registered
181 Posts
I thought that since the engine and everything was hot and the tranny fluid went all over the place that's why there was smoke... but I have no clue!

I didn't see any coolant, but I didn't really look for any either since I more focussed on the tranny fluid at the time lol.

·
Registered
181 Posts
well im new at dodges just bought mine a week ago but i think theres a tranny fluild cooler that the fluid goes thru to keep it running within temp sorry to hear it went to the doc's already u just bought it too?

yes I just bought it :(
there were no signs of the tranny going bad either. No slips, jerks, knocks, pulls, nothing!
This is why I am hoping that it's just a hose or something.
Even when I saw smoke it was driving fine

·
Registered
181 Posts
well wasnt a nice way for your car to say hello to ya i hope its a easy fix for you now you gonna have me look at my lines in the am i have 189k on my trep

Lol yea go check those out! :p
And I hope it's an easy fix for me too!! lol
I'm crossing my fingers for it NOT to be a bad tranny

·
Registered
2,792 Posts
A tranny cooler line could definitely be leaking. It would be leaking coolant if it was a radiator hose.