DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll probably get alot sh** for this but idk what else to try. I bought a 1997 dodge intrepid with the 3.5. the car was in almost perfect shape and has a110kmiles. I only paid 700 but man I had no idea what I was in for. After me and my old lady test drove the car we agreed to buy it. it ran great ice cold a/c heater worked perfect the only issue we thought it had was the gauge cluster didn't work no big deal. after about a week my gf came to me and explained the car had started smoking really bad. I'm gonna skip alot to get to the point. i ended up finding out it suppoably had a bad injector in Cylinder 3. i had the gf order a refurbished injector and replaced it myself. and yes I'm actually a certified auto tech plus came from a family that builds engines for fun. while I was replacing the injector I realized a part of the rail were the fuel line enters the rail was cracked and broken. plus the o ring was toast. my first attempt not knowing what I know now about all the flippin recalls I tried using just a basic o ring a tad bit smaller. I knew it would need to be replaced eventually anyways. and surprisingly the car worked fine for a week. in the week it ran great some how wether it was the o ring I used or the railnhad just became brittle over time. well after I tore it all apart again I actually found the exact size. after solving that problem I moved on to the now broken fuel rail. I decided to use jb weld and build it up enough over time to the point that at first glance u would've known I repaired it. well like a dumbass I figured I might as well replace the other sides onrings as well and snapped that rail also. it broke right werenthe metal locking clip slides in to hold and secure the fuel line. I can't afford to buy new rails at the moment my mother in law just passed after moving in and living with my gf and I so we could take care of her. well we have to pay e