DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:flame: I have a 2002 intrepid with a full synthetic oil in the engine,its a 2.7 L and the oil light comes on after 10 min of driving, it only comes on when i stop and when i push the gas it cuts off, it also cuts off when i put it in park. i had it looked at at the dealership but of course it didnt happen there, please help!!!!!!!

·
Registered
11,960 Posts
Is the oil level good? Check all fluid levels. I'm not a mechanic, so I don't know?

·
Registered
931 Posts
at idle oil pressure is low, so if its getting that low i think its below 5-6psi the light turns on, you might be lookin at a new pump. or you have excessive bearing clearance, or the sender unit is going. have it check out soon tho

·
Registered
2,074 Posts
Humor me on this one....is your filler cap on tight? Is the dipstick in all the way? Does your car leak oil? Those where the things wrong with mine. I bought an oil sending unit and never got around to change it cuz the light went away after I changed the oil and made sure my cap was on tight...it wasn't tight and neither was the dipstick. Sounds weird I know. But check those, then think about changing the oil sending unit. But if it is sluggish etc...have them check the oil pump. Those are the little things I can kinda remember. Good luck.

·
Registered
9,831 Posts
Neoprene00 said:
it only comes on when i stop and when i push the gas it cuts off, it also cuts off when i put it in park.
Sounds like the infamous "Oil Flicker" TSB #08-36-99

Reactions: DCellBatteries

·
Registered
4,388 Posts