DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm new to registering here but have been surfing this site for about 5 months now looking and reading a lot of things.
I want to kinda keep this a summary, but, here goes:

I bought an 01 Trep ES 2.7 V6 9 months ago, it had been wrecked on front left and put back together all mickey mouse'd by whomever the previous owner took it to.
Anyway, so far this car has proven to be a piece of **** to me all along. It really has, I love Intrepids but damn! haha. Ever heard of Money Pit?

Okay, so...one day I get the clunk noise in rack n pinion, replaced that..power streering for another 3 months. Stops again, drove without power streering for a month.. got a rebuilt power streering pump two days ago, installed it. I even flushed it three times at the rack n pinion to make sure no air was inside the lines, power streering works coming out of driveway, and fails at the end of street, no more power steering. Looked at the pump and it wasn't pumping like it was before, so I took it back today and got it replaced with another pump.
Now the pump pumps like nobody's business! Power steering worked for a few blocks, and now does not work. Came back and flushed the system again, adjusted the belt ant different tensions, everything.

Thing is, 1500 RPM, no power streering, 2500 RPM power steering, 3000RPM+ full blown power streering. Same thing with other rebuilt pump.
I'm starting to think that the rack n pinion has been damaged from driving it for a month or so without power steering working? I don't feel like spending another dime on this car.

I searched everywhere on the net looking for articles about this issue and what else there is to do other than all the things I did! I can't find anything so I decided to come here to the experts and see what you guys say about this.