DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Is this best left to professionals?

I have a 1996 Chrysler Concorde LXI (3.5 engine), and after watching these videos, I thought about tackling the job myself...

My biggest concern is removing the engine pulley, and making sure the cams are back in their correct position after replacing the belt and pump.

If the cam pulleys are off a fraction, can this be remedied with a timing light (or diagnostic machine), or do you have to pull the belt covers and physically reposition the cams?

Sorry for my ignorance. I am not an engine mechanic, and I mainly work on stuff like pumps and brakes.

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 · (Edited)
Thanks for all of the replies!

Concerning belt slack, is it hard to get proper tension opposite the tension pulley (driver's side) of the belt? One neighborhood mechanic said that he likes to back off a notch on the driver's side cam pulley. Now quite sure what he meant by that though.

So far, I've found a Gates kit for about $230.00. (includes new pulley and tensioner)

Nice thing about the 1st gens (1993-1997) is they're Non-Interference clearance engines. If you fook up setting the timing when replacing the belt it won't crash valves and be a costly mistake. Just reset all your timing marks and thread the belt again until it's verified good.

No such luck on the 2nd gens!
That's what the video said, but two neighborhood mechanics say otherwise. :confused:

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
I can't get the pulley (harmonic balancer) bolt off. The bolt head corners appear to be rounded somewhat too. I also had trouble keeping the pulley from turning, and I thought the next door garage had a device to keep the pulley stationary, but they do not, so I had to quit for the day.