DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2,676 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK...I got some extra money laying around and do not know what to get? I am thinking of a system for my 'trep.

What would a good system cost, and what do you guys recommend? I've never done anything with car audio before, aside from upgrading a head unit.

·
Registered
4,980 Posts
Extra cash lying around? You could always send it my way!! :)

Go with the stereo, I'd say...nothing like having great sounding tunes in your car. Maybe you could try building that system you were talking about earlier with the hard drive incorporated somewhere in your car?

·
Registered
2,427 Posts
if you have enough cash i'd advise you use boston acoustic speakers. throw a nice cerwin 12 sub with a good amp and you'll be set.

·
Registered
2,676 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I currently have $900, plus the $300 tax refund I should be getting in a few weeks for a grand total of $1200.

I do not want to spend it all on a system for my car, I'd like to get more than one thing.

I have no idea what to buy???

·
Registered
2,427 Posts
pioneer head unit and boston speakers. a set of boston 6x9s in the rear deck will almost alleviate the need for a sub. note i say almost. my pioneer 6x9s do the same thing but boston is just a richer sound. for the money i paid though the pioneers are way better than average. infinities are nice, of course, too.

i would stay away from alpine, sony, kenwood, jl audio and rockford fosgate. with those you're buying a reputation. alpine head units are good quality but i don't like their style (i like a volume knob and not buttons).

people, please don't flame this post because you disagree with my personal preferences in car audio....just state your disagreement and leave it at that.

·
Registered
2,676 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I would definately go with a Pioneer head unit because my changer is Pioneer, and can be controlled by a Pioneer head unit if I get one.