DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Time to turbo this beast!

I just aquired a used T04E turbo from a friend. It used to be on his prelude, but it lacked the "adequet power" so its time to see what it will take to boost a 2.7L. I have the manifold in progress and im getting an Intercooler from XS Engineering. But my main concern is FUEL, mainly the right amount of fuel at the right time. So here is the question:

What will i need to keep the motor from going "boom!" under 6psi? Who makes the nessicary parts and gauges needed? If anyone can help me out, it would greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
3,503 Posts
What gauges are you referring to? If you are referring to boost, EGT, AF gauges, than those can be bought anywhere (Autometer, Faze, Sunpro, Speedhut, APC, etc).

I'm really not a tubo expert so I'm not sure what type of fuel/boost/engine management you may need.

One note though, and maybe you already know this, but you will need to take into consideration that boost is not the tranny's best friend on these cars. I'm not sure what 6psi or less will do, but it's something that needs to be considered.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks for the input, and i should of specified what it was i needed. now i know what i wanted to ask. that is whether or not i need an engine management system or turbo air/fuel computer. you know...the really expensive electronic crap. anyone else wants to chime in with their 2 cents, it would be a big help

·
Registered
1,651 Posts
I would never buy a turbo car or put one on an engine....at least not for a car I drive daily. A turbo is hard on the engine and oil and they go bad after awhile. Sure you get more power, but just look and listen to a turbo car with alot of miles....you'll usually see smoke coming out the exhaust. And putting a turbo on a car without upgrading or reinforcing it is just asking for trouble. Just my 2 cents.

·