DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
One quick question to anyone who owns a 1st gen. Intrepid- I know this is going to sound stupid (dont call me stupid), Im a manager at a autoparts store and I know the the function of thermostat, that the computer is programmed to work with our 195 temp. thermostats, BUT has anyone got curious on how are cars would run with lower stat? yes, we'd be running richer on gas, would an intake make a better air/fuel ratio? We all know that a cooler motor would produce more hp. I'v tried to match one up (a 192 or 180) with the 195 temp at work and cant find anything close. while looking up thermostats I noticed that the 99' 300M have a 180 degree stat! I'm pretty sure this has to be a little mod that helps that car out with its hp. If anyones pulled this off, post me what stat, and how your car runs. Did it pass smog (damn strict CA. laws) or did you replace before your appoinment?

·
Registered
1,461 Posts
I don't think cooler motors run better, I think it's when they're Temp gauge needle is in the middle it runs the best.

·
Registered
791 Posts
Changing the thermostat should not throw the computer off. The ECM monitors the coolant temp and uses it to HELP determine mixture and spark advance. The cooler Thermstat would just help the engine run cooler and the computer should willingly adjust to that.

Do you work for AutoZone? I've been searching for a 180 degree thermo, and they were the only place that gave me a speach about throwing the computer off.

·
Registered
791 Posts
Anybody have a part number for a 180 Degree Thermo for the 1st GEN?

·
9,861 Posts
NAPA Thermostat # 153. It is a 180.

·
Registered
272 Posts
madmykl said:
We all know that a cooler motor would produce more hp.
We all know that? I don't. :p

A hotter combustion chamber will make more power (but then there is detonation to consider). Way to many variables involved to make such a simple statement.

·