DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
tomorrow im gettin my car checked and ive haeard water pump needs checked, i should be gettin a new serpentine belt, trans fluid changed, oil, oil filter, air filter, was wonderin if I should tell em to look at it, I'm goin to jiffy lube cause theve always done a good job, anything else I should get checked, and info on the pumper of water, thanks REDD

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
need to know the year and the engine size of your trep . If you have the 3.5/3.2 you wont be able to check the W/pump .

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
so what your saying is it runs to cool? if you had a bad pump you would overheat it.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
is theirs signs to tell that the pump is going out, I have no clue, so any tips like if I need to keep greasin it or anything, im new to the trip were two weeks old, so any input . I have no clue of the history of maintenance and I want the stuff I want in it, like mobil 1 trans flush and refill, aall the things to check up on, and I heard water pump was one of them.

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
whats the milage on the car? the waterpumps can sometimes go bad , not much you can look for on the 3.5. sure changing the coolant cant be bad . One thing for sure is if you have high miles on it (100 000 +) and you dont know if the timing belt has ever been done it may be a good idea to change it , and at the same time do the waterpump( same location) could save an engine job down the road.

·
Registered
964 Posts