DodgeIntrepid.Net Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4,980 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just upgraded from 98 to Win2KPro....with the exception of having to uninstall my Easy CD Creator and re-install it, everything works (surprisingly)

Anyone have any problems with this OS? Any suggestions? Just started the class today, so I'm just learning about it now. I was going to install Win2K Server, but it wouldn't let me update from 98. I didn't feel like having to reinstall every little thing on my computer, so I just went with 2K Pro. I'll get around to installing Server later (when I take that class) I have a 3 (soon to be 4)computer network at home, so pretty soon I'd like to have a central server running a couple workstations to practice on.

·
Registered
568 Posts
Originally posted by Intrepid98:
Nope, never had any problems with Win2k :) Once you start using it, you'll never want to go back to 98 ;)
True that! Win2k is a far superior OS to the Win 95/98/me series.

Wait till Windows XP arrives. I've been messing around with the betas and it is a pretty slick OS. Very close to Win2K but with the functionality of the 95/98/ME series. It's supposed the final combination of the two(Where the 95/98/ME branch combines with the NT/2K branch).

But get good with Win2K, XP is very similar.

Buschman

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
The only problem I have ever found with 2k is its compatability wit Novell <Spit>... Also on alot of Compaq workstations it has some minor problems under intense workload...

Works real good on my Intellistation :) oh and looks nice on my 21 inch monitor... ;) Its my work box though :)

[ August 21, 2001: Message edited by: Si ]

·
Registered
4,980 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Small problem...

I installed it as a 32 bit file system as opposed to NTFS (since I have it networked to 2 other 98 machines)